Contact Us
Follow Us Facebook Twitter RSS
Join the Coalition
Access to Research is a Student Right
Blog
Home > Blog

New OpenCon webcast series and March OpenCon Community Call

Published Mar 10, 2015, 1:09pm
 

This month, due to downtime on the OpenCon website we’re posting this announcement here. Normally you can find details at OpenCon2014.org/community/webcasts and OpenCon2014.org/community/calls

Announcing OpenCon Community Webcasts!

We’re excited to announce our new OpenCon Community Webcast series, which aims to inform and engage the growing OpenCon community by showcasing an individual, project, or success story each month. Ranging between 30 minutes and an hour, these webcasts will provide a regular opportunity for the OpenCon community to hear from those leading the charge for Open Access, Open Education, and Open Data.

To kick the series off, we’ve invited Titus Brown (website, blog, twitter) to join us and share his story of gaining tenure as an open researcher! Titus is a an Associate Professor at the University of California Davis Genome Center and recently wrote a blog post that will be of interest to many in the OpenCon community entitled “On gaining tenure as an open scientist”. In October 2014, Titus was one of 14 researchers selected for the new Moore Investigators in Data-Driven Discovery award .

The webcast will be held on Friday, April 3rd, at 12pm EDT / 5pm BST / 6pm CEST, and last approximately 45 minutes. A recording of the presentation will be available online immediately after the webcast. You can view the webcast at this URL or by bookmarking the embedded YouTube link below.



March OpenCon Community Call

Beginning in February, we’ve begun hosting OpenCon community calls each month for those in the OpenCon network to hear the latest updates on open policy, share updates on one another’s projects, and have an open discussion of important topics. Approximately 20 people joined our first call, and we’re hoping to see many more join future discussions. Those surveyed said the first call was extremely useful and plan to join again in the future.

Join our next community call on Wednesday, March 25th, at 12pm EDT / 4pm GMT / 5pm CET.

If you’re planning to join this month’s community call, you can sign up to give an update and see last month’s minutes at http://bit.ly/communitycallmarch

Don’t miss out on the discussion! Join the OpenCon community email list.
 
Finally, make sure you’re not missing out on the lively discussion on our OpenCon community email list, which is also where you can get the latest updates on OpenCon. You can subscribe through the form below.

Join the OpenCon Discussion List

View group

Comments on this page are closed.

Join the Coalition Write to Congress