Contact Us
Follow Us Facebook Twitter RSS
Join the Coalition
Access to Research is a Student Right
Blog
Home > Blog

Don't miss these 4 webcasts to bring you up to speed on Open Access and Open Educational Resources!

Published Oct 13, 2014, 9:38am
 

In the run up to OpenCon 2014, we're happy to present four webcasts that take you from the very basics to the leading edge of Open Access, Open Education and Open Data in just a few hours. You can sign up for reminders below! 

October 20th: The Open Access Week Kick Off event

On October 20th at 8pm BST (3PM EDT, 12PM PST, 9PM CET), join SPARC and the World Bank here to kick off International Open Access Week 2014.

To celebrate the start of Open Access Week SPARC and the World Bank highlight some of the most interesting student and early career researcher-led initiatives that exemplify the “Generation Open” theme for International Open Access Week. The kickoff event will feature questions from both the in-person and online audiences.  The panel will discuss the role that institutions central to a career in research can play in supporting—and rewarding—early career researchers in making their articles and underlying data openly accessible.

To find all the information for joining, and ask questions of the panel head here.

October 29th: Open Access 101 with Nick Shockey

On October 29th at 4pm BST (12PM EDT, 9AM PST, 5PM CET), join Nick Shockey here for an introduction to Open Access.  

Nick is the founding Director the Right to Research Coalition. A coalition of local, national, and international student organizations that advocate for researchers, universities, and governments to adopt more open scholarly publishing practices.  Under Nick’s direction, the coalition has grown to represent just under 7 million students in approximately 100 countries around the world and has facilitated student lobbying in over two hundred Congressional offices. Nick is a leading expert on Open Access, and has spoken to audiences across the world on the topic.

October 31st: Open Education 101 with Nicole Allen and David Wiley

On October 31st at 5pm BST (1PM EDT, 10AM PST, 6PM CET), join Nicole Allen and David Wiley here for an introduction to Open Education.

Nicole Allen is SPARC’s Open Education Director and a leading figure in the Open Education Movement. In her time Nicole worked with college students to organize numerous large-scale grassroots campaigns on OER and related issue areas, including a 40-campus, cross-country van tour called the "Textbook Rebellion" and organizing 3,000 professors to sign a commitment to consider adopting open textbooks. Nicole is widely cited in the media for her work, and is considered one of the leading issue experts on college textbook costs.

Dr. David Wiley is Co-Founder and Chief Academic Officer of Lumen Learning, an organization dedicated to increasing student success and improving the affordability of education through the adoption of open educational resources by middle schools, high schools, community and state colleges, and universities. He is also currently a Shuttleworth Fellow, Education Fellow at Creative Commons, and adjunct faculty in Brigham Young University's graduate program in Instructional Psychology and Technology.

Open Data 101 with Ross Mounce - November 4th

On November 4th at 4pm BST (11AM EST, 8AM PST, 5PM CET), join Ross Mounce here for an introduction to Open Data.


Ross Mounce is a postdoctoral researcher at the University of Bath studying the use of fossils in phylogeny and phyloinformatics, completing his PhD at the University of Bath last year. Ross was one of the first Panton Fellows and is an active member of the Open Knowledge Foundation, particularly the Open Science Working Group. He is an advocate for open science, and is actively working on mining academic publications to reuse scientific data in meta-analyses to gain higher level insights in evolutionary patterns.

Tags: , , Open Access, Open Access Week, Open Education, OpenCon2014

Comments on this page are closed.

Join the Coalition Write to Congress